Three Players from Indiana Nominated for 2018 Burlsworth Trophy

Ball State senior wide receiver Riley Miller, Indiana senior wide receiver Luke Timian, and Notre Dame senior wide receiver Chris Finke have been nominated for the 2018 Burlsworth Trophy, an award given to the most outstanding football player in the country who began his career as a walk-on.

Brandon Burlsworth, the player for who the award is named after, walked on to the University of Arkansas’ football program in 1994. Burlsworth ended up becoming an All-American. Shortly after being drafted by the Indianapolis Colts in the 3rd round of the 1999 NFL Draft, Burlsworth was killed in a car accident. His legacy lives on today through the Burlsworth Trophy.

Ball State’s Riley Miller has had a very productive season with the team, tallying 51 receptions for 713 yards and 5 scores for the Cardinals.

Luke Timian of the Hoosiers has had a solid season as well, racking up 31 catches for 279 yards for IU.

Chris Finke, Notre Dame receiver, has recorded 27 receptions for 338 yards and a score, while also contributing on special teams as he has returned 12 punts for 103 yards for the Fighting Irish.

All three players are very well deserving of their nominations and should be proud of their accomplishments.

Most recently in 2017, Washington State quarterback Luke Falk was the recipient of the award with current Cleveland Browns quarterback Baker Mayfield as a finalist. Mayfield also won the award in 2015 while attending Oklahoma University.

The Burlsworth Trophy was first given out in 2010 to Georgia Tech center Sean Bedford. The award is given out by the Rotary Club of Springfield, Arkansas, and is a program of the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation.

Congratulations to Miller, Timian, and Finke!